Select Page
UK Education System Growth Centre December 12th, 2017
UK Education System

Education System In UK

The UK Education System consists of both publicly funded and private schools. UK Education System is under the complete jurisdiction of the provinces and territories (states). There is no central education system in UK.

UK has long been a popular destination for Indian students. The quality standards for UK Education System are among the best in the world. With more than 200 institutes of higher education to choose from, all equipped with extensive facilities, UK universities are able to offer a broad spectrum of subjects from the highly academic to the purely practical. For example, in the UK, one can specialize in anything from computer games programming, ocean engineering, satellite positioning technology or sound engineering to multi- media design, anthropology, cross-cultural psychology, hotel management or dance.

Types of Institutions in UK Education System:

  • University
  • Open University & College
  • College and Institution of Higher Education
  • Teacher Training College
  • Institutes of Technology


Types of Degrees:

Types of courses at UG level
  • Bachelor’s or undergraduate degree – There are different titles of degree, such as: Bachelor of Arts (BA), Bachelor of Science (BSc), Bachelor of Education (BEd) and Bachelor of Engineering (BEng).
  • Foundation Courses – It may be studied as a standalone qualification or upon completion, you may progress to the final year of an honours degree.
  • Certificate of Higher Education – Equivalent to the first year of a full honours degree, this is the most basic level of qualification that can be gained in higher education and show that you are capable of studying successfully at university level.
  • Diplomas of Higher Education– Full-time DipHE courses are normally equivalent to the first two years of a degree and can often be used for entry to the third year of a related degree course. They can be academic, but are mainly linked to a particular job or profession such as nursing and social work.
  • Higher National Diploma (HND) – A two-year course which, if completed with high grades, can lead to the third year of a degree.
Types of courses at PG level
  • Professional / Vocational Qualifications – A professional or vocational qualification is usually taken to improve skills or gain attributes required by specific jobs.
  • PhD / Doctorates – A Doctor of Philosophy, or doctorate (PhD/DPhil) is the highest academic level a student can achieve. These degrees are very demanding and often lead to careers in academia.
  • Masters – A Masters qualification gives you the opportunity to further your knowledge of a particular subject or to go in a completely different direction using the skills you have gained from your undergraduate studies.
  • MBA’s – A Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree is an internationally recognised qualification which gives you the skills needed for a successful management career.
  • Post Graduate Diplomas & Certificates – Post Graduate certificates and diplomas allow students to study something new or build on the skills and knowledge already gained during their first degree.
  • Conversion Courses – A conversion course is a vocational postgraduate qualification usually taken by graduates wanting to change subject area after their first degree

Duration of Courses

  • Foundation Programs
  • Certificate / Diplomas of Higher Education & HND
  • Bachelors/Masters/Doctorate Courses
  • Intakes
They are of one year duration, equivalent to the first two years of an honours degree and are generally tailored for students as an alternative route to bridge between one’s own qualification and that which is required for entry for a degree program in a university / college.
They are of one to two years duration.

Bachelors Courses:

They are normally of three or four years’ duration and are largely taught courses, sometimes including the preparation of a short written thesis.

  • Regular Bachelor’s degree is of three years.
  • Sandwich programs are made up of combination of periods of study and time spent in industry. So the course duration extends to four years instead of the usual three years.
  • The duration of study for an Honours Degree is four years.

Masters Courses:

Study may take the form of an independent piece of research under supervision or a taught course, and leads to a variety of degrees and awards.

  • The Taught courses normally last for one or sometimes two years.
  • Research postgraduate programs involve in-depth study of a specific field, usually over a period of two or three years.

Doctorate Courses:

  • Completion of a doctorate normally takes a minimum of three years. Many post-experience courses are also available, either leading to a qualification or providing a refresher course for graduates wishing to update or extend their knowledge.

  • Major intake is in September – October
  • Some universities have a rolling intake