Select Page
Australian Education System Growth Centre December 12th, 2017
Australian Education System

Education System In Australia

The Australian education system is distinguished from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). The AQF was established in 1995 and is a national policy that covers qualifications from the tertiary education sector (higher education and vocational education and training) in addition to the school-leaving certificate; the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education.

The AQF has 10 levels that link school, vocational and university education qualifications into one national system. This allows you to move easily from one level of study to the next and from one institution to another, as long as you satisfy student visa requirements. It allows choice and flexibility in career planning. All qualifications in the AQF help prepare you for both further study and your working life. If you are studying an AQF qualification, you can be sure that your institution is Government authorised and nationally accredited, and that your degree or other AQF qualification will be genuine.

The universities place emphasis on active learning and employability. Consequently infrastructure for teaching, training and research are consciously world class in terms of both faculty and facilities. Australian courses are recognized internationally. Education standards are high and the academic environment is stimulating.

Australia provides a multi cultural environment. These degrees are comparatively lesser in duration and cost effective as well. That is why, the number of Indian students opting for courses in Australian universities is witnessing a considerable rise ever since.The Australian education system can be broadly classified into – primary, secondary and tertiary education.

More Information on Australian Education System

School Education (Primary and Secondary)

School education is similar across all of Australia with only minor variations between states and territories. School education (primary and secondary) is compulsory between the ages of 6 and 16 (i.e. Year 1 to Year 9 or 10). Australian schools are public (government) or private (religious or independent).

Tertiary Education

Tertiary education includes both higher education (including universities) and vocational education and training (VET).

Australia University

It is the highest level of graduate and postgraduate study in Australia. There are 41 universities in total – 38 public (government funded) and three private. Australian universities offer programs in traditional and modern subject areas such as innovative courses in IT, electronic business and science.

You can study at the undergraduate level (Bachelor Degree) or postgraduate study level in Australia (Graduate Certificate, Diploma, Masters, PhD).

Vocational Education & Training (VET)

Australia’s VET sector is based on a partnership between governments and industry. Each year increasing numbers of international students are choosing the TAFE option, either as a means of training and qualifying for a highly skilled job in business, the arts, or industry, or as an alternative pathway into university degree studies. These institutions are closely linked with various industries. As a result, the courses are very practical and skill-based. Vocational courses are provided at both the government-funded Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutes as well as private institutions. TAFE being the largest provider of tertiary education courses in Australia with about 250 institutes and over a million students including about 41,000 are international students.

English Language

English is the official language of instruction. Preparatory courses in English language are also available in Australia. It is undertaken for study, travel, immigration or business purposes.
There are around 100 private English language centres in Australia. Some top ranking Australian universities and TAFE institutes also offer English language courses.

  • Jan – Feb
  • June – July
Types of Degrees at Undergraduate & Graduate Level

The eligibility criteria of courses vary considerably in the form of entry requirements, duration and method of assessment. The following awards are offered by Australian Universities:

  • Doctoral Degree
  • Master’s Degree
  • Graduate Diploma / Graduate Certificate
  • Bachelor’s Degree
  • TAFE Certificate III & IV
  • Undergraduate Diploma / Advanced Diploma / AQF Diploma
  • Foundation Programmes

Duration of Degrees

  • Duration of Bachelor programs may vary from 3 to 4 years (Honours).
  • They are available across all faculties of Arts Commerce, Science, IT.
  •  Duration of Postgraduate programs may vary from 1 to 2 years.
  • Australia offers a wide variety of choices for post graduate studies.

Vocational Education & Training

Duration : 1 to 4 years

Foundation Course

Duration : 1 year

Duration : From 5 weeks to 1 year

Duration : 13 years in total (Kindergarten/Preparatory to Year 12)